1.12 – Fireproof and Fabulous

1

My morning sickness was ebbing away slowly. I was glad for it, since I could finally be treated normally…or so I hoped. I was still in my first trimester, and Z thought it would be a good idea to teach me how to play chess. Being a genius sim, it was very refreshing to challenge my mind for fun instead of numbing it with tv.

“Are you sure you should be teaching me? I’ll catch on eventually…”

“Why shouldn’t I be teaching you? Surely you can’t expect me to teach our kids to play chess? It’s fine, you’ll be fine. It’s not like it’s life or death. Just a friendly game of chess between two geniuses, what could possibly go wrong?”

“Yeah, but-“

“No buts! Just enjoy it, relax and make your move. White pieces always go first.”

2

After the chess match, which I lost, Z told me to sit at the table while he brewed some tea for me. I didn’t mind, it was a sweet notion. Rini was up, which was a complete relief. My suspicions of radiation sickness was growing with her tides of fatigue and increased hunger. I couldn’t wait til Z had lab time, until then the only thing I could do was try to keep the atmosphere happy.

“Nice of you to join us! We were beginning to worry about you, Rini. Z had the idea that you were sneaking out after curfew and meeting up with a lover.”

“That sounds like quite the rumor. Z, I assure you, I have no other guys in my life other than you and Syden…unless that baby is a great-nephew.”

“That’s good to hear. Your tea is almost ready m’lady.”

I still couldn’t get used to him living here, and being treated like royalty.

3

Z left for work, and Rini decided to try out the easel…me, I was already nesting. Puddles needed to be mopped, trash needed taken to the bin, dished needed washed, fridge needed cleaned out…I didn’t realize this house was so dirty! It was like this pregnancy reset my OCD ways. With a clean house, I decided it was time to tend my beloved garden. Just 3 more plants to evolve to excellent and I’d be a certified Freelance Botanist.

4

First thing I needed to do was feed Betty. That cake was so tempting, I could see why Rini was uneasy with it being here. But I don’t care. I love Betty, and I’ll make sure this baby, and all my future children love and cherish Betty and all plant life…and hopefully after I’m gone, they will teach their children and grandchildren the importance of these plants. My hope is for all of my descendants to take care of what my aunt and uncle worked so hard on.

5

Z came home with a promotion. With that promotion came more money for adding things I wanted. Slowly, I will make this home more of what I envisioned.

“I’m so proud of you Z!”

“I’m working so hard, I deserved this promotion, and now I’m feeling incredibly good and confident…like I can do anything.”

“Good. Add windows and another arch to this stretch of wall.”

6

He did what I asked, and I loved it! I had a nice view from the table. He bought himself a treadmill as a reward for all the work he’s done. I suspect he really needed it so he could keep getting promotions. I wasn’t going to argue, it was nice to watch him workout.

7

I completed my aspiration, and was certified with a reward. This orchid plant was the last plant I needed to evolve. I thought it was very fitting; I, Cipher Phoenix, was fireproof because of this beautiful plant that my mother, who died in a massive explosion, grafted and grew. Next time I saw her, I would have to thank her.

8

Now that I had completed that goal, I had to chose another primary goal. Out of all the aspirations I was doing, none of them sounded right for a primary goal just yet. Having a big happy family seemed like a long term goal, not very great for a primary. I could go with finding my soul mate, but Z and I weren’t ready to get married. With a curfew, becoming an angling ace was going to be tough.

I decided to add another one to my list; I was going to focus on becoming fabulously wealthy!


9

When I woke up that morning, I was in my second trimester. I felt incredibly sore but at least my nausea went away for the most part. Z was downstairs, he had today off. Which meant I was going to be watched all day, no straining myself…blah, blah, blah, ect.

“Good morning Sleeping Beauty. Want to play chess?”

“I guess. Don’t go easy on me. I think I’m catching up to your knowledge of the game.”

“I hope so. I love Rini, but she is not good at chess at all. I need a challenge.”

10

The chess match was horrible, he didn’t go easy on me. It made me realize just how much he was holding back, and how much more I had to learn. At least I wasn’t a sore-loser. My cheerful and positive outlook was rewarded with a sweet kiss on the cheek and an offer to do my chores for me. Normally, I would protest and grumble, but today I just felt like relaxing. My back was aching, and my body felt sore. If the rest of the pregnancy was like this, I was just going to give in and allow them to pamper me.

11

Before Z went to do my chores, I felt the baby move. I gasped and quickly grabbed his hands and placed them on the bump.

“The baby is already moving. Probably adjusting so he or she can develop comfortably.”

“This is amazing. Cipher, I’m so happy I get to experience this.”

“I beyond happy you can experience this, I’m elated. But it makes me wonder if my dad was able to experience what you’re going through.”

“If your mom loved him as much as you say she did, I can guarantee he experienced this.”

12

My first day of work was tomorrow, I decided that while Z was working on the garden and with Rini in the kitchen, I would work on my daily task of filling out reports. I already had a nameplate for my desk, and an award for “outstanding progress as a leader”, it was probably for the work I did to establish and build Atmospheric Pressure.

14

The counter was filthy when I came into the kitchen. Rini was really into cooking today, so I had to ask.

“What’s up with all the cooking?”

“Nothing, I just really feel like cooking.”

“Does it having anything to do with unlocking the bar? Because you’ll also need some skill in mixology.”

“I know, that’s why I’m always so tired. I’ve been staying up all night working on it.”

That was a surprise. Maybe she really wasn’t sick, just extremely dedicated. It then dawned on me, her primary aspiration is to be a master chef! With the bar, she’d be able to join the culinary career and finally complete it. I couldn’t believe I forgot about it. Maybe I’d invest in some sleep replacement potions for her.


16

My uniform for work was horrible and hideous, and I hated it. But I had to grin and bare it, because I loved my job. I loved the independence I gained from it, as well as a stepping stone for the money I needed for my aspiration, and for this community.

17

After work, the sink was dirty, and broken. So I repaired it, salvaged the parts and took the rest to the trash. I was mopping the puddle when I decided enough was enough. I didn’t have time to constantly repair and clean, so with the salvaged parts, I upgraded the sink to have a sturdy faucet. When that was done, I felt good about it. It made me want to upgrade what I could, with the parts I had left, on my next day off or even on maternity leave.


19

Just a random picture to show how adorable Cipher is while pregnant! This is still second trimester. I can’t wait til she’s pregnant again. She’s just sooo adorable! Ugh.


20

The previous day at work, I was promoted, today…I had another equally horribly, hideous uniform that I hated. Oh well, sometimes in life, we have to do what we have to do. It’ll all be worth it in the end, I just know it.

3 comments on “1.12 – Fireproof and Fabulous

  1. Jes2G says:

    I love them in their 2nd trimester. I think my Sims are the cutest Sims in the world when they’re in their 2nd trimester. And I love Z and want to marry him LOL.

    Like

  2. […] From the Ashes – Chapter 1.12 (Unofficial Apocalypse Legacy) […]

    Like

  3. Daniel says:

    That was so good! I love the houses as well! Did you upload the houses on the gallery or can you upload it there?

    Like

Leave a comment